North Carolina Teens Will Soon Be Able To Get Their Driver License Sooner
All the different laws regarding teens getting their licenses can get a bit confusing in North Carolina.
For the last 25 years, there has been a 12-month limited learner permit requirement for new drivers. That is now being shortened as of May 6th.
Teen drivers will now be able to get their limited provisional license after six months, and after nine months in 2024, as long as they are at least 16 years old, have logged 60 hours of driving, are insured and pass a road test.
According to a statement by Governor Roy Cooper,
“For years, NC’s graduated drivers license process has significantly improved safety for all motorists, however, this legislation passed by a large margin because it should help reduce the waiting time for young people wanting their license. I have concerns that this law could make our roads less safe and I encourage the Division of Motor Vehicles and the legislature to monitor its effects closely.”
While this new process will move faster, and help those who have been help up by delays, I can’t help but agree with Roy Cooper. We should be watching the affects of this to make sure there are not increases in accidents or driving problems. The last thing we need in Charlotte is more bad drivers.
Fewer people on the road means fewer car crashes, plus it allows highway crews and utility workers to get faster results. If you must travel, reduce your speed, increase your following distance and be sure to clear all the snow and ice off your vehicle before traveling.— Governor Roy Cooper (@NC_Governor) January 16, 2022