Taylor Lautner attends the 2022 CMT Music Awards at Nashville Municipal Auditorium on April 11, 2022 in Nashville, Tennessee. Taylor Swift performs onstage for the opening night of "Taylor Swift | The Eras Tour" at State Farm Stadium on March 17, 2023 in Glendale, Arizona.John Mayer attends Cool Comedy Hot Cuisine: A Tribute to Bob Saget at Beverly Wilshire, A Four Seasons Hotel on September 21, 2022 in Beverly Hills, California.

As Taylor Swift prepares to release her re-recorded 2010 album with six new tracks, one of her exes feels confident there’s no “bad blood” between them. Taylor Lautner, who dated Swift for a few months in 2009, told Today on Tuesday (May 16) that he feels “safe.” Though the singer-songwriter wrote a heartfelt breakup song about the Twilight alum in 2010 titled “Back to December,” Lautner shared his support of the artist.

“I think it’s a great album,” Lautner, 31, said. He added, “Praying for John.” He was alluding to one of Swift’s messiest breakups, with musician John Mayer. That breakup inspired “Dear John” off Speak Now. As we previously reported, the musicians were linked from 2009 to 2010 after collaborating on Mayer’s song “Half of My Heart.”

RELATED: John Mayer Addresses His ‘Womanizer’ Reputation

At the time, Swift told Elle she was “really excited” to team up with the Grammy winner and had “been such a big fan of John for such a long time.” Following their breakup, Swift released “Dear John,” in which she sings, “Don’t you think nineteen is too young / To be played by your dark twisted games when I loved you so?” Mayer was 32 when the pair dated.

Swift’s third re-recorded album, Speak Now (Taylor’s Version), is set to drop this summer. Earlier this month, Swift announced on social media that she would release a re-recorded version of Speak Now while performing in Nashville for The Eras Tour. “It fills me with such pride and joy to announce that my version of Speak Now will be out July 7 (just in time for July 9th, iykyk).” The singer-songwriter reflected on her “completely self-written” 2010 album when she was 18-20 years old. She added: “The songs that came from this time in my life were marked by their brutal honesty, unfiltered diaristic confessions, and wild wistfulness. I love this album because it tells a tale of growing up, flailing, flying and crashing … and living to speak about it.”

Best Album Ever?

Swift’s Instagram post included a note signed by the 33-year-old, reading: “I always looked at this album as my album, and the lump in my throat expands to a quivering voice as I say this. Thanks to you, dear reader, it finally will be. I consider this music to be, along with your faith in me, the best thing that’s ever been mine.”

Taylor Swift Fans Make John Mayer Trend Following 'Midnights' Drop

Taylor Swift’s highly-anticipated 10th studio album Midnights dropped today (October 21) and fans have been going wild on social media. Swift surprised fans with seven bonus tracks when she dropped  Midnights (3am Edition) at 3 am. They include “The Great War,” “Bigger Than the Whole Sky,” “Paris,” “High Infidelity,” “Glitch” “Would’ve, Could’ve, Should’ve” and “Dear Reader.” As promised, she released the music video for track 3: “Anti-Hero.” Per her Midnights Manifest schedule, lyric videos to the album will be released at 8 pm ET Friday.

Directed by Swift herself, the award-winning singer-songwriter dropped Easter eggs and cinematic parallels throughout the whole video, calling back to previous eras. Here’s a thread pointing out all of those hidden details from the mastermind herself. As always, Swift took to Instagram to debut some behind-the-scenes pictures from the “Anti-Hero” music video shoot. The singer introduced the video by writing, “Watch my nightmare scenarios and intrusive thoughts play out in real time.”


Watch the “Anti-Hero” music video below.

Swift wrote of her bonus tracks, “Surprise! I think of Midnights as a complete concept album, with those 13 songs forming a full picture of the intensities of that mystifying, mad hour. However! There were other songs we wrote on our journey to find that magic 13. I’m calling them 3am tracks. Lately I’ve been loving the feeling of sharing more of our creative process with you, like we do with From The Vault tracks. So it’s 3am and I’m giving them to you now.”


One of the bonus tracks in particular was noticed by Swifties as being a dig at Taylor’s ex-boyfriend John Mayer. She already wrote “Dear John” about him on her Speak Now (2010) album. The two dated briefly between 2009 and 2010, when she was 19 and he was 32. Now, track 19, titled “Would’ve, Could’ve, Should’ve” seemingly calls out Mayer once more, firing up Swifties once again. The song’s chorus features lyrics: “I damn sure never would’ve danced with the devil / At nineteen / And the God’s honest truth is that the pain was heaven / And now that I’m grown, I’m scared of ghosts / Memories feel like weapons.” Following that, Swift’s lyrics are: “If you never touched me, I would’ve / Gone along with the righteous.”

“Taylor really put Would’ve, Could’ve, Should’ve, a song directly about her relationship with John Mayer when she was just 19, as TRACK 19 ON THE ALBUM. SHOTS WERE FIRED,” wrote one person on Twitter. “john mayer was sleeping peacefully but was awoken at 3am with a chill down his spine” wrote another. “something tells me john mayer just jumped out of his sleep with a gasp. i know he felt a shift,” wrote one person. Another found it amusing that Mayer was called out, writing, “i cant stop laughing taylor really said actually i don’t want to wait for speak now taylors version to be released to drag john mayer i need him to suffer NOW.”

Check out the songs from Midnights below:

  • Lavender Haze

  • Maroon

  • Anti-Hero

  • Snow On The Beach

  • You're On Your Own, Kid

  • Midnight Rain

  • Question..?

  • Vigilante S---

  • Bejeweled

  • Labyrinth

  • Karma

  • Sweet Nothing

  • Mastermind

Sign me up for the Kiss 95.1 email newsletter!

Make sure you're not missing out on anything at Kiss 95.1 and become an exclusive VIP member. Enjoy all the perks and get exclusive insight into music news, contests, and more!

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.