The Maney & LauRen Morning Show

Weekdays 6:00AM-9:00AM

SANTA CLARITA, CALIFORNIA - NOVEMBER 14: Kurt Rennels hugs a student (R) at a park near Saugus High School after a shooting at the school left two students dead and three wounded on November 14, 2019 in Santa Clarita, California. A suspect in the shooting is being treated at a local hospital for a gunshot wound to the head. (Photo by Mario Tama/Getty Images)

We’ve all heard of love languages, but do you know what your apology language is? According to Cosmopolitan, It’s actually super helpful to know and can be the key to building better relationships.

Stop and consider your style of apologizing and also – how you like to receive an apology. It’s different for everyone when trying to move past an argument.

Cosmo says, Dr. Gary Chapman first wrote about apology languages in his book, “The Five Languages of Apology” with Jennifer Thomas. According to Dr. Chapman’s book, the five languages are:

  1. Expressing regret (“I feel ashamed for how I hurt you.”)
  2. Accepting responsibility (“I was wrong for doing that to you.”)
  3. Genuinely repent (“I can only imagine how much pain I caused, I am so sorry. I won’t do that again. Next time, I will do _____ differently.”)
  4. Making restitution (“This is how I will make it up to you _____.”)
  5. Requesting forgiveness (“Will you forgive me for letting you down?”)

Find out how to determine your apology language and more about it HERE.

Source: Cosmopolitan

Sign me up for the Kiss 95.1 email newsletter!

Make sure you're not missing out on anything at Kiss 95.1 and become an exclusive VIP member. Enjoy all the perks and get exclusive insight into music news, contests, and more!

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.