Coronavirus Information Report

NEW YORK, NEW YORK - JULY 06: People walk through lower Manhattan on Monday morning as New York City officially begins ‘Phase Three' of opening on July 06, 2020 in New York City. While the resumption of indoor dining has been postponed indefinitely due to a spike in Covid-19 cases in states such as Texas and Florida, ‘Phase Three’ in New York will allow for beauty businesses — nail salons, tanning studios and tattoo parlors — to open their doors to customers for the first time in months. (Photo by Spencer Platt/Getty Images)

“This article about the coronavirus red zone was originally published by the Center for Public Integrity, a nonprofit newsroom based in Washington, D.C.” linked here.

A previously unpublicized document says 18 states are in the “red zone” for COVID-19 cases, meaning they had more than 100 new cases per 100,000 population last week. Sadly, North Carolina is one of them. “Now we’re open, and we want to stay open and we will stay open. We’re not closing. We’ll put out the fires as they come out,” Trump said at a White House event earlier this month.

Now, the following 18 states are in the COVID-19 red zone for cases: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Utah. We need to all do our part to help decrease the spread of the Coronavirus. Stay safe and healthy North Carolina and remember to wear your mask and wash your hands!

Alexis Zarycki is your average girl with the hopes of leaving an everlasting impact on the world. Follow her on Instagram @official_lexpaige